About KAR

Distinguished Service Award

The 2014 KAR Distinguished Service Award was presented to Carolyn Stone Edwards, a REALTOR® with RE/MAX Creative Realty in in Lexington and member of the Lexington Bluegrass Association of REALTORS® (LBAR). This award is given to someone who has provided outstanding contributions and service to the real estate industry and his/her local community. Edwards was president of KAR in 2006, treasurer in 2004, served as a regional vice president for six years and was named REALTOR® of the Year in 2007. Through her involvement over the last 28 years, she has served on many committees, work groups and task forces at the state level. Edwards served as president of LBAR in 1993 and was twice awarded REALTOR® of the Year (1994 & 2007).  She served two terms as president for the REALTOR®-Community Housing Foundation and is still serving on the Board. With the National Association of REALTORS®, Edwards chaired the Credentials Committee and has served on other committees over the past several years. Edwards previously served on the Lexington Urban Fayette County Government’s (LFUCG) Board of Adjustments and was a past member of the LFUCG Human Rights Commission where she chaired the Housing Committee for two years. Through her real estate office, Edwards is involved in many charitable organizations including the McKenna Foundation, Children’s Miracle Network and Habitat for Humanity, where she served as KAR’s team leader for a Global Village Trip that helped rebuild homes in Mobile, Alabama after Hurricane Katrina.

Past DSA Winners

  • 2013 - Linda Moore, Lexington
  • 2012 - Jayne Cox, Lexington
  • 2011 - John Chandler, London
  • 2010 - John Davis, Paducah
  • 2009 - Evelyn Pusateri, Louisville
  • 2008 - David P. Schoepf, Ft. Thomas
  • 2007 - Joe Guy Hagan, Louisville
  • 2006 - Charlie Murphy, Lexington
  • 2005 - William P. Snyder, Louisville